General discussion

Layers vrs Tables - URGENT HELP PLEASE

Ok New Problem! Please see other discussion of Web Looping in mac...

I have received a email from a web designer teacher, who has been teaching for over 20 years - Web Design...and he says because I've used layers (Div tags) I need to recreate the whole site http://www.bc.anglican.ca into tables.

Because I've used Dreamweaver and layers rather than tables, he believes that is the problem...not validation of the site - although that would help! Although I'm kind of new at the web design stuff, I have taken over 2 years of web courses and do know what I''m doing .....

The reason he believes is because the layers are overlapping and everything gets out of wack when viewed in Mozilla or Macintosh computers..

So looks like I have to recreate the whole site again (over 150 pages) and convert everything into tables.

is there a separate program to convert from layers into tables? I know Dreamweaver does it but because I've used Nested layers - it tells me sorry won't work...

Anyone with help now? Please take a look at my site, a large commercial web site and advise URGENT SUGGESTIONS. How would you Guys solve this one...

Again, all I'm trying to do is have my site, which works perfectly in IE 6, and Windows OS....to work perfect in Mozilla and Macintosh computers too....

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Layers vrs Tables - URGENT HELP PLEASE
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Layers vrs Tables - URGENT HELP PLEASE
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.