The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

laptop help

by drummerboy627 / November 20, 2006 12:53 AM PST

hello everyone,
i am new to the whole laptop scene. i am going off to college next fall but i thought i might get ahead of the game by getting a laptop in the very near future.
i need a laptop that is powerful enough for both photoshop and video editing. i am definitely getting a 15.4" screen, 1gb ram, and a dedicated video card (either nvidia or ati). however, i'm not sure how laptop processors compare to desktop processors (i have a 2.53ghz p4 processor in my desktop).
i'm going to get a dual-core processor. my question is: how fast? will 1.66ghz be enough or should i go higher? also, how do the dual-core mobile processors compare with p4 desktop processors in terms of speed (i would like something that is just as fast, if not faster, than my current p4 processor).

thanks for your help,
drummerboy

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: laptop help
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: laptop help
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.