PC Hardware forum

General discussion

just starting and in need of a teacher

by videoman23 / August 12, 2010 12:43 PM PDT

I've wanted to build my own PC for some time now, but I have no real knowledge. I would like some patient guidance on some of the general knowledge such as which is best to get, or compatibility and maybe some advanced tips. I want to build is a gaming PC that can run the current games smoothly without having to lower the graphic settings to blocky blurs. I would also like to be able to do this with out spending a fortune, but I realize the limitations of that aspiration.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: just starting and in need of a teacher
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: just starting and in need of a teacher
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Tips
by davy08 / August 12, 2010 7:29 PM PDT

First off you need a large enough tower to support a Grafhics Card & lot's of ventilation & an extra chassis fan.