Computer Newbies forum

Question

Junior Network Administrator

by Admin1984 / September 28, 2014 6:44 AM PDT

Hi all, I need some advice regarding my new Junior Network Administrator role. I have never worked with computer's before this role, and after selling my car valeting business, my friend a CEO of a computer firm offered me this job. The problem is, the firm does not offer training for non-experienced, in the past they only hired those with experience. However I need to learn the basics first, and I have only three months to improve or losing my job. I have been working here for just over 3 months, and in desperate need of advice to speed up my learning. I have bought myself some books, problem solving, Computer basics, and Excel 2013 for Dummies. I really want to work in I.T and willing to learn outside of work, I need to know if this job is worth fighting for or look elsewhere. My duties so far involves, daily backup disk change, Computer build up and upgrade when needed, Installations, Daily monitoring of software and applications, Report writing when needed, Scan security writing monthly, Weekly time sheet report, Daily e-mail alert monitoring, office duties i.e. Data cables, networking problems, DNS problems. I have learnt this and more in three months, but I struggle with attention to detail, and haven't done any live activities yet. Any advice would be much appreciated .Thank-you

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Junior Network Administrator
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates