Speakeasy forum

General discussion

It was a glorious day for bicycling ... almost

by Bill Osler / October 31, 2004 10:50 AM PST

Both yesterday and today were splendid Fall days here. I thoroughly enjoyed some long rides around the countryside, looking at pretty farmland and Autumn leaves.

Today I managed a really long ride and I was feeling quite pleased with myself as I turned into my driveway. The only time I stopped for anything but a stop sign was when I got paged and I had to make a phone call. I'd gone just shy of 37 miles over moderate hills at almost 17 mph with essentially no breaks. Not too bad for a middle aged man.

Then I turned into the driveway, exhausted. I ran off the edge of the driveway into the grass and fell over. I couldn't get my shoes out of the cleats in time to stop the fall (I'm still learning about cleats) so I went right down on the grass with the bike. At least it was a soft landing and I wasn't going fast. One other blessing: AFAIK nobody saw me.

Next time maybe I'll remember how to get my shoes out of the cleats.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: It was a glorious day for bicycling ... almost
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: It was a glorious day for bicycling ... almost
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.