Windows Vista forum

General discussion

Is VISTA Really Spying on Us for US Government?

I was forwarded the email below from the "Canadian Action Party" and I'm not technically sophisticated enough to check if it is true or not.

Any feedback would be welcome.

Thanks for your time.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Does Windows Vista Send Information to the Government?
by Bill Lindner on 20070726 @ 00:13AM EST

Is there more to Windows Vista being big brother than was originally
thought? There appear to be features and services bundled into Windows Vista
that stay in touch with the government and their associates, too.

If this is true, Microsoft has gone too far. This post was in an
abandonia.com forum, and appeared to get overloaded from all the attention
it was getting. Whitedust.net had a copy of it on their site.

A forum user switched to Windows Vista a month ago and actually
had some good luck with it. He began noticing latency on his home network
connection. He used port sniffing software and networking tools to see what
was going on. What he found he referred to as "foundation shaking." There
are some graphical images of a peerguardian 2 log with some very interesting
information. The computer was in an idle state.

It shows the computer connected to the following (in his own words):

a.. DoD Network Information Center (Department of Defense)
b.. United Nations Development Program (Seems to correlate to the parent
branch of the U.N. Informatics Division)
c.. Halliburton Company (We all know these guys)
d.. Ministry of Defense Data Return Agent
e.. DOHS-Recon (traceroutes for this address provided nothing, suspected
blocks on traceroute. Many of us who are monitoring this situation have
suspected the acronym stands for the Department of Homeland Security
Reconnaissance. This is merely a guess, but an educated one at that)

I ran traceroutes on the IP's, and sure enough they came back government