Desktops forum

General discussion

Is Vista killing my MOBO?

by rtammaro / February 16, 2007 8:47 AM PST

The intermittent thumping is my head hitting the wall....

I'm a relatively competent IT professional. I have built/upgraded a number of pc's and I'm pretty comfortable working inside the case.

I decided at Christmas to build a new pc, primarily for the kids since the games they are playing now are pushing the limits of the capability of their current system. I kept an eye towards ensuring the new machine was "Vista capable" and here are the components I purchased

Intel Desktop Board - DG965RY
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor - E6400
1 GB RAM (no-name)
ATI Radeon Sapphire X1900GT

I constructed the system in time for Christmas and loaded WinXP Pro on it. Figured I'd let the time tick away on the "trial" period while I made up my mind about Vista. Upgraded it completely and installed Norton.

The system worked fine with XP. Installed a number of peripherals, including a Linksys Wireless Network adapter. No problems with the machine on the network.

Since the trial period was coming to an end, I decided to stick with XP and attempted to activate the license, but ran into all kinds of trouble working with MS on the activation.

The trial period for WinXP had ended before I could activate it so after wasting a bunch of time with MS tech support trying to activate XP (they weren?t very helpful), I decided the heck with it, I'd just skip the hassle and install Vista. The kids had a month worth of saved stuff that I wanted to preserve if I could, so that presented a challenge since I couldn?t log on interactively. First, I rebooted and attempted to bring the system up in Safe mode so that I could copy some files off of the system and I got an invalid BIOS password login. No problem, I reset the BIOS password and boot up in Safe Mode. Copied some files (user stuff only) to the D partition and on to the new OS