Question

Is this a video card problem?

This is my first time on these forums, but after reading a few threads and visiting some other sites you guys seem like the nicest and most spot on when it comes to resolving an issue.

I have a HP Pavilion DV9743cl laptop. The other day while checking my email(I didn't open any except from work and didn't download anything) my computer received the blue screen of death. I can't remember what it said, but it had something to do with graphics. When I restarted my laptop all I saw a bunch of weird "a" symbols running across my screen. My screen is now stuck at 800X600 and I get a bunch of orange wavy lines and blue bars running in a checkerboard pattern across my screen. If I change my resolution to anything higher the screen fades to black and has white intermixed that looks like its moving around and slowly fading.

I tried system restore just hoping it was a program that downloaded, but that was failed.
I ran Malware Bytes and my Anti-Virus software in safe mode, but nothing wrong in that department
I re installed the Drivers for my graphics card and that did not help
I have done everything but open up my laptop; and if I do that I'm taking it outside and feeding it a few rounds of .40S&W

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Is this a video card problem?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Is this a video card problem?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.