Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Is building my own MCE asking for trouble?

by Rob10 / October 31, 2005 10:42 PM PST

I am considering building my first computer and would like to use Windows Media Center Edition. I've read it can be a little finiky with some hardware compatibility (which I think I could handle), but is it hard for a first-timer to put together a reliable WMCE computer from a software standpoint? I have some experience but would not consider myself advanced by any means.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Is building my own MCE asking for trouble?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Is building my own MCE asking for trouble?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
If you want a PVR sort of thing
by thought_stazi / October 31, 2005 11:20 PM PST