Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

IP Config Relase, lost wireless connection

I have another post before this on this subject, so far, it's got me nowhere. I'll make this a shorter, more direct question:

Scenario: Lost my wireless internet connectivity on new laptop running downgraded from Vista to Windows XP Home SP3. Had it a week ago, worked great. Local line works fine, I plug in Comcast cable and have internet. Wireless "sees" my network, even says it is conected when I log in, but still get a message saying it is disconnected.

I noticed that when trying to connect to network, that a message would pop up in networking window telling me I had no IP address. I'm a novice here, but shouldn't I have one?

I did a Ipconfig/release and Ipconfig renew, and it tells me no operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its media disconnected. What could this mean??

I have tried switching wireless on/off, enable and disable.

Thanks.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: IP Config Relase, lost wireless connection
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: IP Config Relase, lost wireless connection
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.