Networking & Wireless forum

Question

Internet Dropping out...but only for like 15 sec at a time..

by DaniMcHUGE / April 23, 2015 1:23 AM PDT

So, my roommate went and bought us a new router/modem for our internet this model, apparently is a 2 in 1 its a: Netgear AC1750 with a Router Built in, the Router Model is: C6300, but even prior to the replacement of it, I have been having random dropouts of internet service probably about 7-10x an hour but only for about 30 seconds - 2 minutes but as you all may know, this is becoming rather aggrivating, especially when raiding with my Guild >.> Healers FTW. And I'm beginning to think that it's not really an issue with the ISP itself, but rather something in our Router configuration or network settings.

He doesn't really experience it since he's not on the Internet as much as I am (I am a student and I work online. ) so I'm clearly experiencing the disruptions more than he is. But we've tried doing hard resets on the modem/router, and I've just about feel like he just doesn't know what the possible issue could be, and although I know this is Vague I am willing to share more details if they are needed.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Cheers,

Danielle

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Internet Dropping out...but only for like 15 sec at a time..
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.