PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Internal Zip Installation

I am trying to properly install an internal 250 ATAPI Zip.
I bought it on ebay. How would i know it is good?
I have XP and a Gateway which has a Scudsi (I am a novice at this stuff, but as an engineer I'm determined to make it work?) The info from Iomega's site gives two alternatives for installation. One wouold have the Zip and CD drive on the same cable going into the secondary IDE. The second would have the Zip configured as a Master and going to its separate IDE connection. What do you think of the alternatives? My Scudsi "card" has a master IDE connection. Shall I use that for the Zip".
I'm pretty confused aboiut the BIOS settings. When looking at the BIOS setup screen, should the Zip show up next to the connection to which it is physically connected? Then, some references indicate to set the BIOS at "Not Connectd" or something like that. Is that right? Should that be for only the secondary IDE or Both? I also have read about CMOS settings. I do not know how to access thoat. Or. is it the same as BIOS?
By the way, the reason for purpsuing this so doggedly is that the backup of my Quicken data is on Zip drives. (Long story) Without that data, my tax returns will be much harder to do.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Internal Zip Installation
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.