PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Intel family line which is top performer?

Given the Intel family of processors for desktops, which processor is the highest performer (more on this)? In advance pls forgive any confusion on my part I am new to the processor arena.
- Extreme processors
- core 2 Quad E
- core 2 Quad QX (is this extreme proc?)
- Penryn (which one is this?)
- XE processors (such a thing?)
- Xeon
- Itanium

also if you're going to get high end wouldn't it make more sense to pair them with DDR3 instead of DDR2?

Finally what is meant by "better"? more FP ops per sec, best rendering, faster fetch perform cycle? what is the yardstick?

I know some basic things such as quad will beat a dual anyday. 45nm technology is superior (faster, cooler) than 65nm. Help!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Intel family line which is top performer?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Intel family line which is top performer?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.