HolidayBuyer's Guide

Computer Help forum

General discussion

Installing Vista on a 'brand new everything' system, help!

by Hydrilus / June 27, 2008 7:49 PM PDT

Mmk this is my first system build, I'm not a complete noobie going into this though...I've replaced mobos and swapped hardware, hooked it all up and everything before for a while now but just have never actually built my own system... Anyway...

nForce 750i FTW Motherboard is what i got for SLI and all that crap
Two 2gb sticks of OCZ SLI memory
640gb Western Digital SATA hard drive
Some Philips DVD-RW SATA drive...
Intel Core Duo 3.00ghz E8400

Okay now, I have Vista Ultimate 64 (Full version) and am having some issues...

Upon installing the mobo and everything, booted up, went through BIOS and the only thing i changed was the boot device order (I went CD-ROM, then Hard Drive, and that's it). Everything else is default (which seemed to look okay, all SATA ports enabled, blah blah).

Now, I pop in the Vista install disc, it pops up with its' windows, asks for language, etc... Enter my CD key...yes yes. Next I choose CUSTOM install because this is going to a brand new blank hard drive... Now the window comes up asking me to select a hard drive, my WD HDD is recognized, i click on "New" and create a 25gig partition, it is now listed as "Primary." Okay moving on, i click next and it begins installing...

NOW THE ISSUES...

It gets to the point where it wants to restart...alright, all is well. It restarts with the BIOS options of F1 to continue or Delete to go to BIOS setup...(strange, shouldn't it go straight to starting up with the OS like a normal computer..?) Anyway i hit F1 and it continues...another status checklist appears and when it's done, says to press any button to boot from CD... I press any button, the CD spins, and now I'm back at the Vista install screens I was at from the very start of this process...as if it never even installed the OS.