General discussion

Installing On Gateway 2000:

I have a Gateway 2000, and I am wondering what OSs can be put on it.

It has a Pentium II processor, and I don't think Windows XP will work on that. It boots into Windows 2000 Professional successfully. Unfortunately it is password protected. I think the hard drive is NTFS.

Should I buy Windows 2000 Professional and erase the hard drive and re-install Windows 2000 Professional??????????

Or is it possible to install another OS on it???????? Perhaps one newer than Windows 2000 professional?????????

Can a Linux OS be put on this computer, and if so, which ones....????
and also how do I install it????????????

Which has more software compatibility:
Windows 2000 Professional,
or
Linux???????????????
I am new to Linux...I have not used it...Can it do anything that other OSs can do??????

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Installing On Gateway 2000:
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Installing On Gateway 2000:
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
answers

>Should I buy Windows 2000 Professional and erase the hard drive and re-install Windows 2000 Professional??????????
No because win2k sux and costs money.
>Or is it possible to install another OS on it???????? Perhaps one newer than Windows 2000 professional?????????