General discussion

iMAC does not boot, only chimes. Keyboard not responding

Hello:

I am trying to figure out why an iMAC does not boot properly.

Model ECM 2133
Memory:1GB (only 1 module in one of the 2 available slots).

Everytime I push the power button I only hear the chime sound and that's it.

You can hear the HDD spinning but the screen is always black.

I already did the SMU and PRAM reset and nothing changes.

Keyboard is still unresponsive and the screen is black. Mouse light is responsive.

Any ideas?

I pluged the keyboard on another computer and it works fine.

Sorry if I'm not doing something right but I am a newbie with MAC's

Thanks,
Roberto

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: iMAC does not boot, only chimes. Keyboard not responding
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: iMAC does not boot, only chimes. Keyboard not responding
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
What sort of iMac is this?

I don't recognize the ECM 2133 designation.

Could you describe it?

Did you buy it new and how long have you had it?

What version of the Mac operating system are you using?

P

- Collapse -
iMAC does not boot, only chimes. Keyboard not responding

Sorry I meant EMC 2133 iMac (20-inch Mid 2007) Intel Core 2 Duo.

This computer was bought brand new.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1463