The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

if osx were licensed to dell, would you buy a dell?

by benanzo / November 9, 2006 4:21 PM PST

a $500 laptop with osx and all the goodies that make it work like it's a stevejobs handmedown? A laptop with a linux OR one with xp/vista? What self-respecting oem would get into that mess??? Dell wants options so they can tell ms to foff and start calling ALL the shots, but that's a serious nightmare for support.

I see apple making machines for a living, but you know they want to make ms-caliber moolah by hoing out their code, and soon. I know it's been thought before.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: if osx were licensed to dell, would you buy a dell?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: if osx were licensed to dell, would you buy a dell?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
I would sign up for one...
by Quasigriz / November 9, 2006 6:18 PM PST