Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

IE shuts down.....

by gerri / October 24, 2005 2:42 AM PDT

My granddaughter's computer has Windows XP, and the IE 6.0 shuts down constantly. I thought perhaps it had to do with the service pak updates -- although I see that she has computer set for automatic updates.

After installing XP Service Pks, XP Professional, IE shuts down and does NOT ALLOW THE UPDATE to proceed. but sends an error report message notifying IE is shutting down

Why is IE shutting down? I am really a bit of novice so any step by step help would be greatly appreciated.

TIA
Gerri

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: IE shuts down.....
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: IE shuts down.....
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
(NT) (NT) What do you do about spyware/viruses?
by thought_stazi / October 24, 2005 3:10 AM PDT
In reply to: IE shuts down.....
Collapse -
re : ie problems
by danthevan / October 24, 2005 4:34 AM PDT