Usually if you delete an Icon that belong to 'all users' then obviously it will be gone on all user desktop.
By installing a program.. it will be available for all users..
What visible in your desktop is only cosmetic... you add or delete .. (if it is belong to all users, you may want to 'Hide' it.. by going to C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu (or programs)
OR look to any user folder start menu..
you will see the different..
I'm running Win XP Home and have two users. Most of the icons show up on both users desktops. Deleting an Icon on one deletes it on the other. Installing some software installs it on both.
Previously, running Win 2000 Pro on another PC I was able to have totally individualized desktops for each user. As I recall I set this during the initial installation.
How can I change my settings to allow each of us our own individual desktops. I've looked through the help stuff but just can't find anything on it.