General discussion

I was snake-bit by HP too; only worse. need help!

I bought a desktop pavilion8655C /Win 98se OS. I should have learned then, but I was a real novice with home pc's. calling tech support was the worst mistake I made. each time I was worse off. now I need to add more memory, but I have a burned out connection on the motherboard(Asus Hawk1.0Cool when I spoke to different purveyors they all said that the board probably wont fit in an HP case because they put their screws in different places. This makes me wonder if I am going to encounter other such instances
or if I should just get the board with a case that it will fitand trust that everything else will fit in place. Any info regarding this and my best course of action would be appreciated Much thanks, Lafitte

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: I was snake-bit by HP too; only worse. need help!
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: I was snake-bit by HP too; only worse. need help!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -

Dear Lafitte,

There are motherboards that you can buy that will be compatible with your pavillion. The trouble is, you might have some difficulty finding one. If you can, and it's considerably cheaper, then buy it. On the other hand, if it's too complicated, buy a normal case along with the motherboard.