Cameras forum

General discussion

I THINK I need a Mega Zoom

I THINK I need a Mega Zoom

I'm looking at a very similar set of cameras:

Canon Powershot S2 IS
http://www.viewscore.com/vsPP/3/1767_bt-2

Canon PowerShot A85
http://www.viewscore.com/vsPP/3/1429 (ranked first in at;s category)

or possibly very similar models from Casio and Kodak (I've not researched the last two as carefully).

I've done some research and played with the S2 IS, but would still like advice since this is a big purchase for me and I'm a relative newbie (I don't think my Fuji 1mp point-and-shoot from 4 years ago is really "experience"!). However, I had a pretty great point-and-shoot style film camera a few years ago when I was doing a lot of travel and I loved the fairly generous zoom (porbably a 4x equivalent?)

Budget

I can stretch up to $600 or so,
http://www.viewscore.com/category_page.php?categoryID=3&s=1&price=600
assuming I'll need to spend another $150-$200 for basic accessories like a 512 or 1 gb memory card, case, rechargeable batteries (if applicable), etc. I'd be happier spending $400-$500, obviously.

Features

Would like 5-8 mp, and would like advice on which end to go for.

* I would like a 10-12x optical zoom, flip out LCD, image stabilization, a good macro setting, plus other usual features at this price range. TIFF/RAW file formats and video recording are plusses, but not deal-breakers. All of these "requirements" are what I imagine I'll need in the next 3-5 years, however, not what I currently use.

* Image quality is probably an 8+ on a scale of 1-10 of importance.

I would like manual controls, as I'd like to grow into this camera, a bit. It seems like ring controls would be easier to use and more like a "real" SLR.

General Usage