TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

I need an HDTV for a very specific purpose... which is best?

I am a videographer by trade and my company is opening up a studio where we plan on mounting 5-8 42" (abt. - could be a bit smaller) plasmas or LCD's on the walls which will display our work. Right now, most everything we will be displaying is SD, but we are filming more and more in HDV (1080i) so I'd like to keep that in the back of my head while shopping. The content will be displayed on the screens via an imac so there needs to be a DVI connection. People will be viewing the screens from all over the room, and sometimes will be standing close to the screen when selecting content. I have been reading lots of reviews all over the net and am still not sure what is the best option (Plasma vs. LCD) and which brand is best for the money? Thanks for any help in making my decision easier! Here is the summary of my ideal flat-screen TV:

1. Fabulous resolution (1080p)
2. High contrast ratio
3. Wide viewing area
4. DVI connection

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: I need an HDTV for a very specific purpose... which is best?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: I need an HDTV for a very specific purpose... which is best?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.