Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Laptops forum

Question

I'm looking for a good budget laptop.

by annahirsch416 / May 18, 2013 12:11 PM PDT

I'm a high school student who does a lot of computer work and I need a new laptop. I'd use it mostly for digital art/Photoshop, a lot of writing and schoolwork, web browsing, and watching videos. I'm not really a video game player — occasionally simple games like Candy Crush Saga — so that's not a big issue, but I'd like it to be relatively fast. I like the brand Asus for my needs, although I'm open to suggestions for other brands too.

Other things on my list:

-Disc drive
-Good keyboard (little to no flex)
-Screen size minimum 13", definitely no bigger than 15.6". I can manage 12" if other features are great.
-Sturdy build
-Lighter than 6 pounds — I'm going to be carrying it a lot of places.
-Good battery life — I'm looking preferably 2+ hours of video and 5+ hours of web.
-Removable battery

Overall I prefer matte screens over glossy, and backlit keyboards are nice, but in the long run I won't turn down a computer because it doesn't have those features.

I have a personal budget of $500, with some wiggle room if needed. Right now I'm thinking this model: http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-K55N-DS81-15-6-Inch-Laptop-B...