HolidayBuyer's Guide

Windows Vista forum

General discussion

I'm a 64bit newbie afraid I made a mistake, can you help?

by Bulletabn / September 4, 2008 3:59 AM PDT

Hi, I just got a brand new computer with windows vista 64 bit edition. I got the fastest, smartest, spooiest computer I could afford and it's got so many bells and wistles! It's also got windows vista 64 bit. I got it because I could pile in more ram, run more programs at once, etc, etc. Now, I have no idea what I can really do with it and what I can't. I HAVE found out that some programs that I used to use on my 32 bit edition don't work anymore on my new caddilac of a laptop. Now I'm starting to wonder if I made a mistake. Could someone MUCH smarter than me please tell me I didn't just buy a very expensive internet browsing word processor? Is there a place on the web that has programs specifically compatible with vista 64?

Respectfully, Ron Underwood

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: I'm a 64bit newbie afraid I made a mistake, can you help?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: I'm a 64bit newbie afraid I made a mistake, can you help?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.