Computer Help forum

General discussion

I just formatted my computer...

by greenj14 / September 28, 2009 4:20 PM PDT

So, we had a virus on our computer that would not allow us to run a virus scan or to clean anything up. Every time we tried to run a scan, it would shut off mid-scan and we wouldn't be able to run it again...

We decided to just format the system and now the computer seems to be running even worse than before... We are able to run scans (which now come up clean) but everything is just running really slowly and freezing up. On the internet, scrolling down pages is extremely choppy and freezes a lot... I have no idea what is going on...

Also, I don't know how to make my speakers work again... (probably unrelated... I'm just clueless...)

Anyone that could shed some light on this or try to help me?? I'm a university student and I'm desperate. I NEED my computer.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: I just formatted my computer...
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: I just formatted my computer...
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.