Mac OS forum

General discussion

I hate Mac's! (Rant)

Background - I'm an IT manager responsible for over 400 computers spread accross 5 states all of which are PC's.

So my boss comes in with his wifes G5 last week saying he thinks shes got a virus and wanted me to fix it. I start the thing up and it gives me the Mac screen of death - the "You need to reboot your computer" message in 20 different languages. So I reboot and get the same message over and over. I read somewhere online that maybe it's a memory problem. So I replace the memory. Same problem - didn't fix it.

After some fiddling, I am able to get the damn thing to actually boot and go to repair the permissions on the hard disk. It fixes them no problem and I reboot only to get the same damn Mac screen of death.

My boss brings the OS X discs that came with the computer so I can use the hardware test. The extended test runs and everything comes back with no problems or errors but I'm still getting the screen of death.

Next thing I thought was maybe the hard drive is going bad. Without any other way to test it, I decided just to buy a new one. That was cheaper than buying the software to test it with.

I get the new hard drive today, take out 20,000 screws to install it and finally get it up and running. Boot up to the OS X installation disk, partition the hard drive and start the installation. It asks for the 2nd disk, I put it in and it continues the installation.

Then about 50% into it, it gives another damn error message saying the installation failed. After searching for this new problem, I come to find out some of the OS X disks that went out with the G5's had a corrupt 2nd installation disk. The solution was to take any upgrades out (new memory, hard drive) and try again. So I took the memory out (left the hard drive in for obvious reasons) and started over.