Video Cameras forum

General discussion

I am so confused...could someone specify?

So, I am new to cameras and camcorders in general. I have been looking at various websites, and doing research- but each individual seems to have his/her own opinion on aspects of camcorders. For example, one website stated that Mini-DV camcorders are becoming outdated, but it has good quality video and is good for editing. However, another site states that Mini-DV camcorders are old and just shouldn't be bothered with or compared to newer camcorders.

Then there are technical issues. I am completely lost when websites through out fancy camcorder terms.

All I know is that I want a good camera for a person interested in making personal films. My price range is $200-$600, but I want something that will give me a good couple of years' worth.

Nothing fancy, but nothing worthless.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: I am so confused...could someone specify?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: I am so confused...could someone specify?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.