General discussion

How to remove the RAID 0

I have a DELL 8400, with Windows XP professional, The computer came with Raid 0, and now I am having problems with one of the drive, I am afraid that it will eventually die on me. So before it happens, I would like to remove the two drives and replace them with only one. How can I remove the RAID 0?
I have two complete backup on external drives, how can I have the computer forget the RAID and use the backup copies on the new drive?
I am not an expert, so if it can be done I need very clear explanation on how to do it. Thanks
Tina

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: How to remove the RAID 0
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: How to remove the RAID 0
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
About these backup copies

Are these full images of the RAID set? If so, you may be able to restore the image to a single drive. Another option, while the RAID array is alive, is to clone it to a single drive. With a little luck, this should work. Of course XP is going to detect the hardware change when you first boot it.

- Collapse -
How to remove the RAID and replace with only one drive