Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Cameras forum

General discussion

How does ISO work?

by SX10 IS / October 14, 2009 9:51 AM PDT

After reading the title, you may be thinking, "Ooh boy, we got ourselves a newbie here!" Don't worry, it's not that bad.

I know what it does. I know what it stands for ("International Standards Organization"). I know that ISO is a measurement of light sensitivity. I know that upping the ISO setting is very useful in low-light situations (to create "light", or where the subject is moving very quickly (to reduce blur). I know that various other factors affect the effectiveness. I know, also, that factors such as light-gathering ability (e.g., bigger pixels/photodiodes) affects the degradation that results from too high an ISO setting. I know that ISO is a give-and-take, where the higher the setting, the more "noise" is introduced into the image.

WONDERFUL!!! But how does it all work? Why does a higher ISO result in more noise? How does a higher light sensitivity reduce blur? etc., etc.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How does ISO work?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: How does ISO work?