Mac OS forum

Question

How do you sort all icons in OSX Lion?

by Benhermies / September 6, 2011 8:54 AM PDT

I recently got a Macbook with Lion installed. I'm new to OSX and want to know how to have all icons stay automatically arranged by name. I can do it folder-by-folder but that is too frustrating. Is there an easier way?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How do you sort all icons in OSX Lion?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: How do you sort all icons in OSX Lion?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Clarification Request
Can't find the HD in Finder.
by Benhermies / September 6, 2011 10:47 PM PDT

Hi guys,

Collapse -
In Finder
by mrmacfixit Forum moderator / September 7, 2011 12:56 AM PDT

in the menu bar, click Finder > Preferences.
In the next window, select the General Tab
Put a check mark in the box marked Hard Disks
Then in the Sidebar Tab
Put a check mark in the box marked Hard Disks

Close the window