HolidayBuyer's Guide

Desktops forum

General discussion

how do you find a compatible CPU Fan?

by modred11 / March 29, 2008 4:30 AM PDT

I'm fairly new to the world of Computer Hardware.

okay, I have a m7100y that I'm trying to get to work. I think it's been modified (it's not new and it belonged to somebody else before me). I know it doesn't have a graphics card, and I know it's got more RAM then it had at first, but I'm not sure how much was done in the factory when it was order (if any) and how much was done after purchase.

When I try to turn it on a text that looks like it comes from DOS (or the BIOS or whatnot) says: "The CPU fan has failed" and... I'd tell you the rest but I can't remember it word for word, and I do remember it said something like "the CPU could break/overheat if you do not shut down now" it automatically shut down after showing this message for five seconds or something. It also advised me to... I think the gist of it was that it wanted me to fix/replace the fan before I turn it on again.

Okay, I don't know anything about hardware really, not anything about CPU Fans at least and my Google searches for helpful technical articles on finding a compatible one have failed. So, does anybody have any hints or know of a useful link that tells you what kind of fan you need?

okay, since the fan may have been replaced, I'll give you the stuff written on the one that's on the motherboard (I'm assuming that's an efficient way of describing the one that's not on the back of the tower):

intel
ce
D30188-001
N74110 K1
F09A-12B1S2
01AC2H3 (CX)
DC 12V 0.20A
NIDEC CORP

I assume that's the CPU fan. Oh, and the Tower hasn't had it's cover on it for awhile and it's got dust on the motherboard and stuff, but with it being open I would think that that would help to ventilate it, and I wouldn't think that the dust would be the only cause of this.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: how do you find a compatible CPU Fan?