HolidayBuyer's Guide

Computer Help forum

General discussion

How do you create a partition?

by BrianZachary / October 22, 2007 7:05 AM PDT

I have Windows XP Home SP2. I have a 120 GB hard drive partitioned as follows:

C Drive (NTFS) = Total Size: 108 GB, Free Space: 51.6 GB
D Drive (FAT32) = Total Size: 3.70 GB, Free Space 1.67 GB

This is the way the computer came when I bought it 2 years ago, except the free space size of course. What I want to do is create a new partition to move files I want onto so that I can reinstall Windows without the risk of losing any of my files. I have no experience whatsoever creating partitions and any instructions I have read on how to do so are very confusing, especially at Microsoft's website.

Is it possible to create a partition, move my files to it and then do a destructive reinstall of Windows, or would I have to save my files somewhere else? I guess I'm asking if it's possible to format just a partition instead of the whole hard drive. I am willing to just do a backup reinstall, but if I move my files I want saved, I won't need a backup. I don't have an external hard drive, so that isn't an option.

If anyone can give me a "Partitions for Dummies" explanation on creating partitions, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How do you create a partition?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.