Question

Horrid wireless speed issues...intermittent and unexplained.

Hello all... This is my first post, and Im going to start it off by saying that Im somewhat new to messing with wireless networks. Not new to having them, or setting them up on a basic level...but new to trying to diagnose a problem and to possibly having to tweak things to make it right. I want to apologize for this being long too...Im sure it will be.

First some back ground on my set up. I was running a cheaper Netgear router and a comcast rented modem. I had a wired desktop hooked to the router. My wireless devices consist of a Dell Inspiron 1501 laptop, and a Dell Vostro 1000 laptop...about the same age. They both have a Dell 1490 Dual Band wireless card in them.

When I lived in my apt, everything seemed to work just fine. Then I moved into my house. All of the equipment is in the same room. I immediatly started having wireless issues. Connection was no problem. But speeds were down around .1-.4 Mbps.

So I bought a new Netgear D300 router with Gigabit ports. I also bought my own modem to get away from renting from comcast. Its a Motorola Surfboard, basically the same one that Comcast provides. Everything worked great out of the box. The wired PC gets 10-12 Mbps consistently with 0 packet loss and low ping times. And the laptops were working.

Then...all of a sudden...my wireless download speeds shot back down to an almost unusable level. In fact...it is unusable. Pretty sure my old Netscape dial up was faster. The wired PC still gets great speed....so Im assuming my modem is ok. After a few days, the wireless started to work again...then just recently dropped back off. I thought the first problems were maybe just a fluke.

If I connect to my neighbors open wireless...my laptop will magically work fine. I.E. get almost the same download speeds as my wired PC. If I switch back to my wireless network...I lose speed.