Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Homework research - some opinions needed

by seakiwi / August 4, 2006 4:16 PM PDT

Hi

I've just started a Diploma in ICT and as part of our Hardware Fundamentals class we have to build (on paper) two machines, one for use in a small lawyer's office, and the other for a newspaper advertising department (graphics). Our tutor wants us first to ask quesions of people, Google, read and gather as much information as possible on what kinds of specs we'd need to consider for both machines. The first one I think I can probably handle OK, but I have no graphics experience whatsoever so I'm struggling a little with the second machine.

Some things I've got sussed but the things I'm looking for advice/suggestions on are:

- CPU (Brand, speed, dual core etc) I'm thinking AMD at this point but that's purely guesswork. I'm also thinking L2 cache on the CPU might be helpful.

- graphics card (I know NOTHING about these other than what I've read. Both my machines have onboard graphics) I'm thinking the graphics machine will need a quality graphics card, with a decent amount of memory, but I basically have no clue which way to go with that.

- monitor - I WAS thinking wide(r) screen LCD but again I have no experience with LCD. A lot of what I've read suggests that for graphics work CRT is actually better.

- RAM - at least 1GB but would more be better?

If anyone could give me some suggestions/advice with any of this I'd really appreciate it. I'm not looking for you to do my homework for me (I'm 45 btw ) - I'm just looking for guidance and our tutor is happy for us to do that.

Many thanks!