TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Home Theater Receiver?

by bigfoot1970 / December 18, 2003 7:07 PM PST

I am fairly new to the home theater experience and just purchased a Sony 51" KP51WS510 HDTV and have also purchased a Sony DVPNS425P Progressive scan DVD player. I have digital cable as well as the HDTV feed and everything is hooked up with the Composite cables. Why would I want to run a video source through the receiver? Is there an advantage to this as opposed to just running the audio into the receiver? I guess I am confused why the video goes through an audio source and then to the Television and not running the video directly to the TV like it is now? If you could explain this I would appreciate it!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Home Theater Receiver?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Home Theater Receiver?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re:Home Theater Receiver?