Internet Service Providers forum

Question

Home Internet: Verizon FiOS vs Time Warner Cable

Hello everyone,

This is my first time on this forum, so I apologize if my question is misplaced.

I am a college student, and next semester I will be moving into an off-campus house with 5 other students in an effort to save money by moving out of those overpriced dorms. Because we will not be covered by the school wifi, we have to purchase internet through an ISP for the house. We are lucky enough to have Verizon Fios and Time Warner Cable as our 2 options.

Fios is new in town, so not too many people around my school are familiar with it. I have plenty of friends that live off-campus and use TWC for internet; and they often complain saying it could be a lot faster, even when using the best package TWC provides. Because my future roommates are a bunch that would much rather prefer to study at home than on campus, this ISP decision holds a lot of weight. These are our 2 options:

Verizon Fios:
The package that is in the upper area of our budget is the Verizon FiOS Quantum 150/150 Mbps Internet package. These are the details accompanying it:
Premiere speed for bandwidth junkies running important backups, sharing videos and more.
Best for working at home and using multiple Internet devices at the same time
Enjoy power gaming
Upload large files to the cloud
Video conference with the whole family
Upload/download 200 full-quality photos (250MB) in 13.3 seconds.**
*Speed based on 10 Mbps per device per stream
**Time estimates based on maximum connection speeds. Actual speeds will vary.

Our second option is Time Warner Cable. We can afford the best package they provide, and these are the details accompanying it:
Download speeds up to 300Mbps
Upload speeds up to 20Mbps
Home WiFi service included
Access to 400,000+ TWC WiFi® Hotspots nationwide
Free Internet Security and Parental Controls software
30 email accounts