Cameras forum

General discussion

Helping me choose the right digital camera for my needs

I have been researching cameras for two months only to find myself more confused. My old camera is a Nikon Coolpix 4300. Ancient by today's standards, I'm sure! It has served me well for about 6 years. I'm now in the market for a new camera. Any recommendations based on highest ratings and reviews of specific camera brands and series? Person experience and input welcome! I know it may not be possible to meet all of my desires for the money, but comning close would ease some of the frustration & hopefully give me more confidence to purchase. I am at best an amateur, but do love taking pictures. I am in hopes of finding a camera that I won't "need" to buy all the extra lenses, etc. that the DSLR's require... We do a lot of "grandchildren" outings and trips. Lots of sporting events with long distance/action shots shots--as well as close-ups of those beautiful little faces. We also enjoy beautiful landscape pictures taken on trips... We also enjoy museums & theaters.

I've compiled a list of different features along with what I plan to use each for. Thank you so much for input Happy

>$580.00 max w/tax included
>Great both indoor and outdoor
>good in low light
>Prefer NO SLR (but if I have to, I "Might" be willing depending on
ease of use, and expense, etc.)
>USB cable to transfer pictures to computer
>NO compact cameras (I especially like the curved grip on my Nikon
Coolpix, as well as it's size & hate to give that up)> My husband
has very large hands and I have quite small ones.
>Must be able to take movement. We take a lot of "action" shots with
the grandchildren. One is a bymnast, another plays basketball and
baseball, etc.
>Rechargeable battery would be nice (AA's are "okay", but prefer the Lithium rechargeables)
>Close shots as well as long-shots We love taking those close-up
shots of the grandchildren's faces as well as ones of them on the