General discussion

Help with starting a new business!

Hello, I am wanting some ideas on how to go about starting a business, since I am new to all of this... I want to start a computer selling business... probably custom built PCs! is there a market for this? if so, How do I get my name out and around?
Thanks for any input!

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Help with starting a new business!
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Help with starting a new business!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
I'm going to write no. Here's why.

It's likely that you would install Windows. Most of the issues with this is that most of your customers need a lot of support. Since there is no money in the hardware you have to be sure they understand that you provide this much for that much and your rates are this much for that much time, etc.

Now the fun begins. When you find a cranky machine and you turn it on only to find files vanishing will you be ready for the small lawsuit?

Bob

- Collapse -
another question!

wouldn't there be a way to sell some kind of support with the custom built PCs but that would be from some other company? What I am saying is: can I in any way pass on the support side to someone else?

- Collapse -
Dell did that and see what happened!