Laptops forum

General discussion

Help with Next Laptop

by imanym / June 15, 2009 8:34 PM PDT

Hello all, I am a Developer in search of a new laptop, not necessarily because I need one, but because I would like to have a nicer, newer, fresher laptop. My current laptop is as follows:
HP 6910P
Pentium Core 2 Duo 2.20ghz --processor is fine
4g Ram --> would like up to 8g
160 Gig HD --> would like at least 250g
14" Screen -- fine or smaller
Vista Business --> not important, but would like Win7
I have been looking at the MAC BOOK PRO 15, but I know that the Mac's reputation is built upon its OS/machine being designed by the same company. I am extremely open to suggestions, I am also looking at the HP Elite brand laptops. I do like the aluminum shell of the Mac and the back light eluminated keyboard. I have always had an HP and have yet to be disappointed with its products, but I want a powerful business machine that is fun to us and has the non plasticy feel. I am a developer and need multiple environments in order to test various interfaces in there native environment. So, I need a large HD to accomodate these OS environments.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Help with Next Laptop
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Help with Next Laptop
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.