Internet Service Providers forum

General discussion

help with gettin a xbox 360 to work correctly with hughes.ne

by MilesPerHour85 / December 23, 2006 3:15 AM PST

I am very new to all of this and dont know all the computer lingo at all. my problem is that I live in an area where satellite internet is the only option for high speed internet, when I created my xbox 360 live acct and tried to connect through my hughes net I had the folling problems. my modem is a dw 7000 and only has 1 ethernet port and my computer does not have any but one either so I have to connect straight through my modem as far as I can tell, however as I said before I dont know much about this at all. when i connect it does connect just fine but I will lose connection pretty frequently, and even when connected I try to play games online there is about a five second lag in everthing I do. when I spoke to the folks at hughes net they told me that they are not famillar with the xbox 360 live at all wowever they also saaid that if it is set up correctly it should work as well as cable internet. so I figure there may be a nother way to connect it or some settings that I can change in my pc to correct the problem when doin a system connection test on my xbox it goes in this order ad these are the results 1 network adapter- connected 2. ip adress- ok 3 dns -ok 4.mtu-ok 5 icmp- FAILED(always) then comes 6xbox live and 7. nat. but because icmp failes it will not test 6 or 7 . So i figure it has to do with the icmp which I have no idea what any of this means. If there are any computer experts out there that also know xbox 360 live please help me. I love my xbox live but with the tremendous lag my gamersore is going down the drain. if you can help me please reply or email me directly at tamos78@hughes.net thank you so much. mph

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: help with gettin a xbox 360 to work correctly with hughes.ne