Computer Help forum

General discussion

Help! What do I do about a dead laptop screen?

by Claner / September 6, 2010 2:12 AM PDT

I have another thread going about Dell help, but in he mean time the screen has died on my Dell Vostro 1520 laptop (3rd time in a year, PC works fine, but I need to connect an external monitor to use it ). Eventually Dell will sort that out, but I am a consultant and need to travel frequently.

This week (week of Sept 6th, 2010) I need to decide what to do about my PC as I must travel next week (the 13th) and I absolutely need a working laptop to run workshops. I'd like to hear about options that I have and get critique on the options I'm considering:

Option 1: Buy a MacBook (I've been 100% PC to-date, this would be step one of migrating my entire family to Apple)

Option 2: Buy an I-Pad {I would use it for the next week or so as basically an external hard-drive to my PC and then use it to run presentations, I am worried about the compatibility of using Powerpoint 2007 in the I-Pad, the Apple folks in the store showed me an on-line conversion Ap, but they didn't really know anything about it). I live in an "ATT-Poor" area, so I would not get the 3G; after my immediate need is solved how much would I used the I-Pad as a WiFi device only (I'm not a big music and video guy)?

Option 3: Buy a small external monitor (TV) to connect with the laptop. Definitely not cool, but I could lug it along with me and make it work. The only small TV I have found with a VGA connection is the Coby TFTV1022

Option 4: Buy a netbook, load it up with MS software and replicate my laptop. Seems like a lot of work for one week (assuming my laptop is sorted out by the following week).

Help! Better ideas, different ideas?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Help! What do I do about a dead laptop screen?