General discussion

Help required in industrial PC

HI

I'm trying to find a solution to save the hard disk on a power fail. I'm using an industrial PC 'PCISA-C800EVR-RS-R20' and back plane IP-6S-RS-R40 from iei which is installed in a industrial machine.

The power supply to the PC and the machine is through a common power supply unit to run the whole machine. In case of power failure/shutdown the power dies really quick which causes the hard drive to corrupt. I believe the FAT got effected and the PC requires a new installation from start i.e. formating and installing XP.

What i'm thinking is to give a hardware signal (through a watch dog) to the processor to shutdown the PC/ harddrive in an orderly manner just before the whole thing shutdowns.

But i'm not sure how i'm gonna do it since i can't find information on an external hardware input into the board.

Plz if somebody can help me, i'm new to this and sorry if i wrote something improperly.

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Help required in industrial PC
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Help required in industrial PC
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
The only thing I can offer is

That using FAT in any version is death to such a project. No matter what you do you should see failure after failure. Even on a clean shutdown it can still fail.