Desktops forum

General discussion

Help req'd with screen resolution problem with new desktop

hi, I've just purchased a 2nd hand dell optiplex GX260 it's hard drive has been wiped clean so i've had to install the OS (windows XP Pro is now on)but after doing this i've found that the screen resolution will not change i think that i may not have the right driver installed for the monitor i'm using ? the monitor i'm using is not a dell does that matter ? do i need a dell monitor ? the screen resolution is 640 by 480 pixels at the low side but if you try to move it to higher it will not move ?? do i need new drivers ? if so can anybody give me a link to where i can get it from ? i'm not very good at finding these things ?for any help i would be grateful, Thanks Steve.

any

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Help req'd with screen resolution problem with new desktop
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Help req'd with screen resolution problem with new desktop
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.