Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Phones forum

General discussion

Help please! new potential PDA user!

by Wildcatzlair / May 21, 2006 4:31 AM PDT

Hi! i am a busy doc ( a fellow in a hectic medical program). I am looking for a resonable priced PDA which I can use with extra memory to mainly view pdf s and maybe word files, besides the uaul pda things. maybe enter data also once in a while for a propject in excel. And it would have been great if there was a camera to capture some basic photos. And being a student, my budget ~150-175 USD I thought zire 72 fitted my bill, but it seems to have disappeared online except at Ebay. Plus the fact that battery life is supposedly short and non-user replaceable.Can soembody please guide me re the pda selection. As my kind of money would probably only get me refurb pdas, any ideas for buying it from a reliable place ( I basically cant just buy another one next 1-2 year, so looking for something reliable) Would buying a axim X51 basic be a good idea (its 159 $ refurb at dell outlet), or maybe a refurb ipaq 1940-1945? Would be great if somebody could help
cheers
dochat

Discussion is locked
Collapse -
Short?
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / May 21, 2006 7:36 AM PDT

My IIIC has the usual "non-replaceable" battery and is now 5 years old. It only gives 4 hours of use tops but went past 8 when new. If I look on the web I see this battery for sale as well as how to replace.