Question

Help picking a multimedia laptop!

Hello there everyone! I'm a recent college grad, just got my first job and now I want to buy myself a new machine. I graduated with a degree in Math/CIT and I work in the IT field (training to be a database management consultant, currently working with Oracle UPK end-user training) so I'm far from computer illiterate.

I'm just a little overwhelmed by the sheer number of choices available and I'm unsure of what my needs really dictate in terms of hardware.
I'd like a decently fast processor, and a decent amount of HD storage space, but I'm unsure of how to balance what I need with what is available.

I'm hoping some of you kind folks can point me in the right direction.

I tried to organize my needs and wants to make it easier to read:
1. Budget?
a. My budget is anywhere from $500-$1000. Obviously spending less $ is always good but I'd rather spend it now than regret it later, so at long as it's <$1000 I'll be happy.

2. Size of the notebook?
a. 15.6" and up. I'm a 200lb weightlifter, so weight of the laptop has no bearing on my decision.

2. What screen resolution?
a. Don't particularly care.

3. Portable or desktop replacement?
a. I think my needs/uses call for something in the middle. I don't need a "portable" machine in the sense that I'll be bringing it to work or traveling with it. The laptop will likely never leave my house. I need portability in the sense that i can move around the house, bring it downstairs to the couch with me, sit on the porch with it, bring it into the garage to use as a mobile jukebox, etc. So the laptop being "ultra-portable" isn't a huge factor for me, as long as I can move about the house with it.

4. How much battery life?
a. The more, the merrier, but at least 4 hours. Like I said in my answer to #4, this laptop will be a home machine, so it's not an issue for me to have to put it on the charger while using it.

5. Games?