Desktops forum

Help on custom build pc

by c-los512 / July 7, 2012 1:57 PM PDT

Ok so i'm quite new to the whole build your own pc thing, and know my way, at least i would say (software wise), around a computer. As for the computer itself such as, the cpu and graphics not so much.

So as far as a budget for my pc is concerned I'm trying to keep the whole pc itself under around $700 - $650. I plan to periodically buy the parts instead of one giant chunk out of my paycheck, so maybe spend around $100 - $120 dollars every two weeks. Right now I have been looking around the web and have a very rough collection of parts i would consider buying for my pc. Now seeing as how I'm not that savvy hardware wise, I'm not even sure if all these parts would suffice for a ok/good/great pc rig, or even run lol.

So i would be FOREVER in your debt if ANYONE could help me.

The parts I have "selected" are as follows:

PC case: NZXT Phantom 410 CA-PH410-B3 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Orange Trim Computer Case

DVD drive: ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

Hard drive: Seagate SV35 Series ST3500411SV 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-S2P AM3+ AMD 760G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Graphics Card: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity (100315L )

Power Supply: CORSAIR Builder Series CX500 V2 500W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

CPU: AMD FX-4100 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor FD4100WMGUSBX

and an extra fan (not sure if I even need it?)
Fan: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm CPU Cooler Compatible Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7

Right now if i buy all these parts from Newegg this is all gonna cost me a little over $600. (But i plan on buying everything periodically i.e. every two weeks)