Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

HELP! Notebook Computer TV tuner.

by bryangeer / March 12, 2007 10:42 PM PDT

I have encountered a small problem that I am hoping someone can shed some light on. Usually, I'm very good with this sort of thing, but sometimes i get stumped by the smallest easiest things.

Here goes:
I recently purchased an Alienware m9700 notebook computer that is pretty much fully loaded. I opted for the Windows media version of XP along with a built in TV tuner. Though I am very familiar with computers, I have had the same old Zenith television since about the time remote controls were invented. Therefore, I have little experience with home theater/television and setting them up.

So I noticed on the back of my new notebook is an input for Coaxial. I origionally assumed it was the same type of analog input as my old television so I bought a decent splitter and some extra cable. The problem is, the input hole size on my laptop is different from on my old television. Hence I have the following questions:

1) I am assuming my Tv tuner in my laptop is digital and the one on my TV is analog, is this correct?

2) If im right about that, what exactly do I need to do to to successfully get my PC hooked up tp cable?

3) I understand the difference between basic digital and analog components, but they cant be used interchangeably in this case can they? I can't just hook a digital coax up to the existing analog splitter can I? Will I need some sort of analog to digital converter?

The main thing I cant figure out is what type of TV tuner is installed in my laptop. I emailed Alienware tech support, but they take forever to reply. When I try hooking a regular old analog cable to my PC I get television on it, but the input hole on the back of my PC wont allow the coaxial cable to go in because the hole is too small. The connection looks very similar to a regular old coaxial input.