Samsung forum

Question

Help: hooking up HT-E5400 Blu-ray Home Entertainment System

by mikesbaron / January 12, 2013 3:21 AM PST

I'm a complete newbie and hate hooking up electronics. I have the above new Blu-ray surround system that I just hookedup but I'm not convinced it's hooked up correctly and to optimize the features and best sound/picture quality.

I'm trying to hookup my Direct TV receiver, Vizio 41" TV and X-box so I have great sound/picture and can use the speakers when I play X-Box.

Here is how I fumbled around to get it connected right now. It was the only way I could get the surround speakers to work (once I switched the Blu Ray to "AUX"):

TV: HDMI-1 is connected to the HDMI-1 on the Direct TV receiver.

Direct TV receiver: Audio Out (white and red) are connected to the Aux In (white and red) on the Blu Ray.

(I haven't even attempted to get the X-box hooked up yet.) From the above hookup it just seems like there should be a better quality way to connect the satellite up with HDMI cables instead of RCA cables.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Help: hooking up HT-E5400 Blu-ray Home Entertainment System
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Help: hooking up HT-E5400 Blu-ray Home Entertainment System
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.