Laptops forum

General discussion

help choosing laptop for photo editing

by bscottie / October 6, 2010 9:38 AM PDT

I need to replace my old Dell laptop in a hurry, and would really appreciate some suggestions b/c I'm not very tech savvy. I'm mostly going to be using it for photo editing with Photoshop and Lightroom (I'm starting a photography biz). Other than that, just general use, no gaming. Not really sure how to budget - I've been looking at models around $1k. Mostly need something that's fast and has very good visual clarity. I won't be doing a lot of travelling with it, but would like to be able to move around the house, so 15, 16, or even 17" would work.

Questions: should I be looking for i7, or are i5 or i3 good/long lasting contenders? What's the best native resolution for photo editing? I've heard 1366x768 is too low, is bigger always better in this case? Do I need a dedicated graphics card? Brands that are good or ones to steer clear of (don't know much about MSI, ASUS, or Acer).

If there are specific models you can point me to, even better!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: help choosing laptop for photo editing
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: help choosing laptop for photo editing
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.