Camcorders forum

General discussion

HDV, whats the deal?

by cubs123 / June 7, 2007 7:57 AM PDT

I am deciding on getting a camera and was wondering the specifications and pros and cons of an HDV camcorder. I was lookin towards a Sony HDR-HC1 Handycam as my choice, mainly I'm looking for one in the -$800 price range. I'm not a camera expert, so I was wondering if anyone could give me some insight on the what's and what not's of buying an HD camcorder.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: HDV, whats the deal?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: HDV, whats the deal?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
I've been using an HDR-HC1 for nearly 2 years.
by boya84 / June 7, 2007 8:41 AM PDT
In reply to: HDV, whats the deal?

They are no longer made - those for sale are either used, refurbished or the retailer bought a bunch.

1) It captures hidef. I like that I can opt to capture 16:9 or 4:3 standard def.